Chantix–Day two–Activities

Hey, just need to do a little writing about the reasons that I have for quitting smoking.

In case you don’t know, when you begin Chantix, you don’t quit smoking until the 7th day so that the medicine has built up in your system enough to block the nicotine receptors in your brain from the nicotine. I just learned that nicotine receptors cause a release of dopamine when they are flushed with nicotine and that, my friends, is why smokers get addicted so fast…we want our dopamine! So the Chantix hits those receptors instead and flush our brain with a little less dopamine, causing the reduction in the need to smoke. Interesting stuff. I always love learning these little tidbits about how our brains work. Humans sure are interesting machinery.

Anyway, so today is day two. I’m already smoking a little bit less (not a lot less) and finding myself other things to do (such as writing!) to keep me from going outside to smoke.

So, along with the Chantix, you do the GETQUIT program to help you with the psychological stuff, which I’m determined to do, too. I am MOTIVATED people. I want to quit for realz this time. No more excuses. So, today’s activity was looking at the reasons you want to quit. As I said yesterday, it’s a shameful habit for me. I feel shame every time I smoke and feel helpless against the urge.

So, why do I want to quit? Easy. I don’t like smoking, I don’t like looking older than 45, I don’t like smelling like smoke, I don’t want my kids exposed to smoke, I spend way too much money on it, I want my life to change and be positive. (After this, I’m going after my weight and exercise issues), and lastly, I don’t want my kids to see me doing it and become smokers themselves. It’s messy, it’s dirty, and it prevents me from living my life to the fullest potential.

Also, honestly, with the work I’d like to do professionally, it would completely interfere and be wrong of me. Also, I really don’t want to die young..not that I have much control over this, but I think I’ll have a better chance if I just stop the cycle of killing myself slowly.

And that’s about it. That’s why I’m motivated. I want my kids to live without a stinky mommy. I want to be more involved in my life and not sit around wondering if I can smoke where no one can see when I go to the park with the kids. It’s an all consuming habit that just has to go. I hope like heck that I can do this, because I need to.

Ok…day two…here we come 😀

Published by

Megan Jobes

About to graduate college, moving into a job in the computer programming industry

Leave a Reply

